Tag Archives: Stephen Graham Jones

Alan Baxter: The Roo

So, as part of trying to be kinder to my poor neglected blog I’m re-starting the interview series.

First cab off the rank is the inimitable Alan Baxter, who’s recently released a most excellent horror novella in the tradition of Cujo, Razorback and
Read more…

Sarah Read: The Bone Weaver’s Orchard

Sarah Read is a dark fiction writer in the frozen north of Wisconsin. Her short stories can be found in Gamut, Black Static, and other places, and in various anthologies including Suspended in Dusk, BEHOLD! Oddities Curiosities and Undefinable Wonders, and The Best Horror of the Year
Read more…

Suspended in Dusk II: Sarah Read

Today’s blog guest is the lovely Sarah Read, talking about “Still Life with Natalie”, from the the new Suspended in Dusk II anthology.

1. What was the inspiration for your SiD2 story?

A friend of mine (hi Torii!) told me about a
Read more…

Cover reveal: Year’s Best Dark Fantasy & Horror: 2018

Happy to see the cover for the latest Year’s Best Dark Fantasy & Horror from Paula Guran and Prime Books!

“Sunflower Junction,” Simon Avery (Black Static #57)
“Swift to Chase,” Laird Barron (Adam’s Ladder: An Anthology of Dark Science Fiction)
“Fallow,” Ashley Blooms (Shimmer
Read more…

Suspended in Dusk II: Stephen Graham Jones

Today’s SiD2 guest is Mr Stephen Graham Jones.

1. What was the inspiration for your SiD2 story, “Love is a Cavity I Can’t Stop Touching”?

Being fourteen and in love, pretty much.? And then being fifteen and in love. And sixteen. On
Read more…

Suspended in Dusk II: Karen Runge

Karen Runge is an author and visual artist based in Johannesburg, South Africa. Her works have appeared in various anthologies and other publications around the world. Her first solo short story collection, ‘Seven Sins’ was published by Concord Free
Read more…

The Starlit Wood: Stephen Graham Jones

Once upon a time there was The Starlit Wood, edited by Dominik Parisien and Navah Wolfe. It won the Shirley Jackson Award, was shortlisted for the World Fantasy Award, the British Fantasy Award, and a whole slew of other awards. It re-imagined seventeen
Read more…

Mad Hatters and March Hares

And this new anthology from Ellen Datlow is up for pre-order, Mad Hatters and March Hares: All-New Stories from the World of Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland.

Gentle Alice – Kris Dikeman  (poem)

My Own Invention – Delia Sherman

Lily-White & The Thief of
Read more…

The Horror Story We All Know: Stephen Graham Jones on Little Red, Paths, and American Backpackers

This is a fantastic essay by the amazing Stephen Graham Jones on age-old horror.

So two guys are walking across the moors.

Yeah, you’ve heard this one.

Couple of young Americans are backpacking through Europe, and they duck in out of
Read more…

Aletheia: JS Breukelaar

JS Breukelaar’s Aletheia is one of the finest, strangest novels I’ve read in a long time. There’s bone and blood magic in it, and it drips strangeness. Highly recommended.

She’s resident of Sydney, Australia via San Diego, New York and New Zealand. Born in Berkeley,
Read more…