Stories to Read Online

Art by Kathleen Jennings

For anyone who wants to see the sort of things I write, below is a list of my stories that are online (in no particular order) and free to read. Enjoy!

“Rising, Not Dreaming”, http://www.innsmouthfreepress.com/blog/rising-not-dreaming/

Lovecraftian horrors and harp music! Originally appeared in the February 2011 issue of the Innsmouth Free Press online magazine; Russian translation in Darker Magazine, August 2015.

“By My Voice I Shall Be Known”, http://thedarkmagazine.com/by-my-voice-i-shall-be-known/

Quilting! Revenge! Tongues! Original fiction for The Dark (Sean Wallace, ed.); reprinted in The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings (Tartarus Press, 2014).

“Bearskin”, http://thedarkmagazine.com/bearskin/

Bears! Winter! Crossbows! Original fiction for The Dark, Sean Wallace, ed.); reprinted in The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings (Tartarus Press, 2014).

“The Jacaranda Wife”, http://thedarkmagazine.com/the-jacaranda-wife/

An Australian fairy tale. Originally appeared in Dreaming Again, Jack Dann (ed.), HarperCollins, 2008; reprinted in Australis Imaginarium, FableCroft, August 2010.

“Neither Time Nor Tears”, http://thedarkmagazine.com/neither-time-tears/

Old houses and PhD avoidance. Originally appeared in Dreaming in the Dark, Jack Dann (ed.), PS Publishing, 2016.

“The Heart is a Mirror for Sinners”, http://thedarkmagazine.com/heart-mirror-sinners/

Gothic. Sooooo gothic. Originally published in Murder Ballads, Mark Beech (ed.), Egaeus Press, March 2017; translated into Japanese in Night Land Quarterly, Volume 3, Atelier Third, November, 2015.

“Better Angels”, http://thedarkmagazine.com/better-angels/

The bad things we unwittingly let in. Original fiction for The Review of Australian Fiction, December 2017.

“The Red Forest”, http://thedarkmagazine.com/the-red-forest/.

Blood porridge and trees. Originally appeared in Winter Children and Other Chilling Tales, PS Publishing, 2016; reprinted in The Dark Magazine, February 2019; translated into Japanese, The Night Land Quarterly #17, May 2019.

“Wilderling”, http://thedarkmagazine.com/wilderling/.

I do like cats, really I do, but it’s hard to tell from this story. Original fiction for The Dark Magazine, Sean Wallace and Silvia Moreno-Garcia (eds.), 2019; translated into Italian, Il Buio #6, Lorenzo Crescentini (ed.), 2019.

“No Good Deed”, http://thedarkmagazine.com/no-good-deed/.

Brides and tombs and jewellery, oh my! Originally appeared in New Fears, Mark Morris (ed.), Titan Books, 2017); reprinted as “A Song of Dust” in Best New Horror #29, Stephen Jones (ed.), PS Publishing, 2018.

“St Dymphna’s School for Poison Girls”, https://www.tor.com/2015/05/19/st-dymphnas-school-for-poison-girls/.

Books and revenge and bride training. Original fiction (novella) for The Review of Australian Fiction, Volume 9, Issue 3, February 2014; reprinted in In Focus 2014, Tehani Wessely (ed.), Fablecroft Publications; translated into Chinese in Science Fiction World, 2018. Winner of the Aurealis Awards for Best Short Fantasy Story 2014.

“The Coffin-Maker’s Daughter”, http://www.nightmare-magazine.com/fiction/the-coffin-makers-daughter/ .

Coffins. Originally appeared in A Book of Horrors, Stephen Jones (ed.), Jo Fletcher Books, September 2011); reprinted in Sunspot Jungle, Bill Campbell (ed.), Rosarium Publishing Press, 2018, The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2011, Ticonderoga Publications, 2012; translated  Spanish translation in Terra Nova antología, Mariano Villarreal (ed.), Sportula Publishing Press, 2017; Chinese translation in Future Affairs Administration; into Polish at Poltergeist Magazine, January 2014; Romanian translation at Revista de Suspans. Winner of the British Fantasy Award for Best Fantasy Short Story 2011.

“Brisneyland by Night”, http://www.lightspeedmagazine.com/fiction/brisneyland-by-night/

Kind of a Pied Piper meets Hansel and Gretel in Brisbane. Originally published in Sprawl, Twelfth Planet Press, September 2010.

“Bluebeard”, http://www.schlockmagazine.net/2013/06/24/bluebeard/

More books and a curious kid. Original fiction for Shimmer #4, Summer 2006.

“Bluebeard’s Daughter”, https://sqmag.com/2015/04/30/edition-20-bluebeards-daughter-by-angela-slatter/

Fairytale mashup plus apples. Original fiction for SQ Magazine, May 2015.

“Finnegan’s Field”, https://www.tor.com/2016/01/13/finnegans-field-angela-slatter/

Fairies and an Australian town and a child who came back. Original fiction for Tor.com, Jan 2016; Chinese translation in Science Fiction World, January 2018.