Australia Council announcement

I’m delighted and grateful and humbled and relieved to say that I was fortunate enough to be awarded an Australia Council for the Arts grant for next year.

This in no way represents ‘free money’. What it represents for me, and others, is that we are able to keep going for another year. I was at the end of my tether, I must admit, and about to go back to an office job. Writing careers proceed in fits and starts, there are peaks and troughs; grants like these help us keep going.

My project will be an Australian gothic novel called Blackwater.

The writers and literary organisations list contains quite a few friends and colleagues – including Claire Corbett, Nicole Hayes, Cass Moriarty, Michele Seminara, Omar Sakr and Ellen van Neerven – which is heartening indeed.

  • Adelaide Festival of Children’s Books
  • (Peter) James Boyce
  • Jessie Cole
  • Claire Corbett
  • Tricia Dearborn
  • Nicole Hayes
  • Abdul Hekmat
  • Lisa Hills
  • Zoe Holman
  • Daniel Keene
  • Michelle Leber
  • Bella Li
  • Cass Moriarty
  • Liam Pieper
  • Christine Piper
  • Omar Sakr
  • Michele Seminara
  • Angela Slatter
  • The Garret Podcast (Astrid Edwards and Nic Brasch)
  • Ellen van Neerven

Another eight groups received arts projects organisations grants.

  • Cordite Press
  • Giramondo Publishing Company
  • Melbourne University Publishing
  • NSW Writers’ Centre
  • Puncher & Wattmann
  • Spineless Wonders
  • The Stella Prize
  • TLB Society

Five projects were awarded development grants for individuals and groups.

  • Jesse Blackadder
  • Michael Fikaris
  • Amanda Murray
  • Stephanie Van Schilt and Jess O’Callaghan
  • Ariella Van Luyn

The full list of recipients in all art forms is here.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Australia Council announcement

  1. Jayne says:

    Congratulations on the wonderful news!! A deserved reward for you and one, too, for your readers. Can’t wait to hear more about Blackwater (that is, if you’re willing to share any deets ?).

  2. Angela says:

    Thank you! It’s about fleeing the past, ghosts, and how all the waters of the world are connected!

  3. Jayne says:

    Ghosts that haunt water rather than houses, perhaps? Regardless, sounds cool! I’m making space on my bookshelf already :-). Best of luck, Angela!

  4. Gerald Sawyer says:

    Congratulations to you Angela, and well deserved! I support you as best I can through purchasing your books and spreading word of your genius here in the U.S.A., although my circle of influence is small. I just finished “The Navigator” from “Sourdough” two days ago, and the imagery has left me feeling disturbed and a bit melancholy, but effective stories will do that. Thank you for your tough, challenging work.

  5. Angela says:

    Many thanks, Gerald. Sorry for the disturbance and the melancholy, though!